Boekhandel Douwes Den Haag

Burnt Sugar

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

Doshi, Avni

Burnt Sugar

Burnt Sugar

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

Burnt Sugar

 

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021 A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans 'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020 'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian 'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.'


Op werkdagen voor 23.00 uur besteld de volgende dag in huis

€ 15,95

Op werkdagen voor 23.00 uur besteld de volgende dag in huis.


Beschrijving Burnt Sugar

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021

WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans

'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020

'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian

'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.'

This is a tale of obsession and betrayal. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter.

Tara and Antara, the woman and her angry shadow. But which one is which?

Sharp as a blade and compulsively readable, Burnt Sugar slowly untangles the knot of memory and fiction that binds two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath.


ISBN
9780241989142
Pagina's
288
Verschenen
NUR
300
Druk
1
Uitvoering
Paperback / softback
Taal
Engels
Uitgever
Penguin Books UK

Literatuur